MM-1 MAYORAL MINUTE - LOCAL GOVERNMENT ENGAGEMENT WITH GREATER SYDNEY PLANNING COMMISSION

Department Executive Services

Author Initials: HM

REPORT

The State Government has established the Greater Sydney Planning Commission comprising:

- 1. Chief Commissioner
- 2. Deputy Chief Commissioner and Economic Commissioner
- 3. Social Commissioner
- 4. Environment Commissioner
- 5. District Commissioner Central (who represents the City of Canada Bay)
- 6. District Commissioner North
- 7. District Commissioner West
- 8. District Commissioner West Central
- 9. District Commissioner South West
- 10. District Commissioner South

It is important that Local Government connect with the Greater Sydney Commissioner to ensure that its communities are represented.

The logistics of the District Commissioner attending Councils individually, to discuss planning, is difficult. To overcome this, the City of Canada Bay proposes to engage with the below listed Councils to sponsor separate sessions with the District Commissioner accompanied by the Economic Commissioner, Social Commissioner and Environment Commissioner.

The Councils to be invited are:

- City of Sydney
- Inner West Council
- Burwood Council
- Strathfield Council

RECOMMENDATION

THAT the General Manager liaise with the Greater Sydney Planning Commission to establish separate sessions for the District Commissioner – Central along with the Economic Commissioner, Social Commissioner and Environment Commissioner to meet with Councillors and staff of the City of Canada Bay, City of Sydney, Inner West Council, Burwood Council and Strathfield Council (as a group) to discuss planning issues in each relevant Council area.